Japan Guide - Measurements

Electricity

The Japanese electric current is 100V AC, which is found almost nowhere else in the world. To make it more confusing, Tokyo and eastern Japan are on 50Hz, and western Japan (including Nagoya, Kyoto and Osaka) is on 60Hz. Most North American electrical items, designed to run on 117V, will work reasonably well on the Japanese current. Japanese plugs are flat two pin, identical to North American plugs, however you’ll need a transformer to safely use any foreign appliances.


Time Zones

All of Japan is on the same time zone and there is no daylight savings. Japan is fourteen hours ahead of Eastern Standard Time (EST) in the US and nine hours ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) in Britain. Accordingly, when it is noon in Japan, it is 7pm the previous day in San Francisco 10pm in New York, 3am in London, 11am in Hong Kong, and 1pm in Sydney.


Measurements

Japan uses the international metric system except when measuring the size of rooms. In this case, the measurement is made by how many tatami mats or 'jo' fit into the space. If you’re not confused already, a tatami mat in Tokyo (1.76m by .88m) is smaller than a tatami mat in Kyoto (1.91m by .96m).

 

Previous

Next

Japan General Information

Part 1 Information on Japan
Part 2 Getting to Japan
Part 3 Tourist information
Part 4 Passport and visas
Part 5 Costs and money issues
Part 6 Post and telephone
Part 7 Internet and newspapers
Part 8 Measurements
Part 9 Health and safety
Part 10 Accommodation
Part 11 Food
Part 12 More food!

Please note: We will be updating this section in the near future. If you would like to help us do this, please do contact us. Thank you.