Minakami Now daily snow and weather - Wednesday 6th February 2008

Minakami Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Minakami & Katashina region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 8:06am on Wednesday 6th February 2008
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Overcast
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
NIL
Good
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Wednesday 6th February 2008, 8:06am
---
Tuesday 5th February 2008, 13:18pm ---
Monday 4th February 2008, 9:02am ---
Sunday 3rd February 2008, 8:18am ---
Saturday 2nd February 2008, 7:55am ---
Friday 1st February 2008, 9:40am ---
Thursday 31st January 2008, 11:12am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (February 2008) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 8:06am on Wednesday 6th February 2008
The latest Minakami Now report can be found here

Yesterdays snow only amounted to 7cm at the valley level and 20cm above 1300m. This morning the sky is slightly overcast and the forecast is for it to stay like this for the day.

The nest forecast snowfall is for Saturday when a low front moves in from the South. This should bring snow for most of the weekend, although it may be quite warm and wet.

Backcountry
The sun of last Monday has created a thick melt crust at 50cm in the snow pack on North slopes that has the wind packed fresh snow from the past 6 days sitting on top of it. Facets were starting to form in the interface between the crust and new snow creating a weak layer (CTM(11) @ 50cm). It would be advisable to pick your routes very wisely at present, especially avoiding steeper terrain.

Avalanche Hazard:
Alpine: Considerable
Tree Line: Considerable
Below Tree line: Moderate

Archive report: Posted at 8:06am on Wednesday 6th February 2008
The latest Minakami Now report can be found here

Minakami Now ski lift operation notes:

Tenjindaira OPEN\r\nHoudaigi OPEN\r\nMinakami Fujiwara OPEN\r\nMinakami Kogen OPEN\r\nOkutone Snow Park OPEN\r\nNorn OPEN\r\nWhite Valley OPEN\r\nOana OPEN

<
Tuesday 5th February 2008
This report
Wednesday 6th February 2008
Thursday 7th February 2008
>
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Sunday 30th May 2021, 8:45am
Niseko Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 8:45am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Sunday 23rd May 2021, 8:25am
Furano Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 11:08am
Hakuba Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 9:23am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 8:01am
Kiroro Now 0cm
Thursday 6th May 2021, 9:32am
Myoko Now 0cm
Sunday 2nd May 2021, 8:18am
Madarao Now 0cm
Sunday 4th April 2021, 9:04am
Geto Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:45am
Zao Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:41am
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:40am
Aizu Bandai Now 0cm
Thursday 26th November 2020, 11:22am
Naeba Now 0cm
Friday 27th November 2020, 7:58am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Lessons in English
Minakami Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Minakami Now by clicking on the month