Myoko Now daily snow and weather - Friday 18th February 2011

Myoko Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Myoko region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 7:06am on Friday 18th February 2011
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Heavy overcast, snow
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
Steady, shifting to the north
Currently fair to base level, increasing fog up the hill
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Friday 18th February 2011, 7:06am
---
Thursday 17th February 2011, 14:51pm ---
Wednesday 16th February 2011, 9:41am ---
Tuesday 15th February 2011, 20:27pm ---
Monday 14th February 2011, 22:11pm ---
Sunday 13th February 2011, 19:12pm ---
Saturday 12th February 2011, 11:55am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (February 2011) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 7:06am on Friday 18th February 2011
The latest Myoko Now report can be found here

I shouldn't have mentioned rain yesterday, because in the evening yesterday the really wet stuff started to come down. Not too heavily, thankfully, but pushed along by a southwesterly wind and accompanied by that heart-rending sound of water dripping off the roof.... Chills me more than the coldest winds.

Fortunately, the rain has turned back to snow this morning, and it feels (to stockinged feet in the end-room office) like the temperatures are going down. The wind has shifted to the north, so it probably is not going to be the most delightful day for skiing today.

For most of us, a rain day means maybe having an extra cup of coffee, or tuning the skis or actually getting some paying work done; think of the hundreds of kids here for a big Nordic and Alpine tournament when it's raining out there.... Pretty miserable, so it's good to see it turn to snow. Hope it holds through the day.

There's no snow report out yet; no new snow obviously, and that wind will bring the snowpack levels down. There's still plenty on the ground, though, and more to come, so don't worry!


Current Official Snow Depths:

Akakura Onsen:
280cm

Akakan (Akakura Kanko):
300cm

Ikenotaira:
280cm

Myoko Suginohara:
220cm

Seki Onsen:
550cm

Myoko Ski Park:
320cm

Kyukamura:
300cm

Tangram:
230cm

Madarao:
200cm

Archive report: Posted at 7:06am on Friday 18th February 2011
The latest Myoko Now report can be found here

Myoko Now ski lift operation notes:

All areas open

<
Thursday 17th February 2011
This report
Friday 18th February 2011
Sunday 20th February 2011
>
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Saturday 30th May 2020, 10:10am
Geto Kogen Now 3cm
Friday 24th April 2020, 8:18am
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Thursday 23rd April 2020, 5:30pm
Furano Now 0cm
Wednesday 22nd April 2020, 7:08am
Madarao Now 0cm
Tuesday 31st March 2020, 9:15am
Zao Now 8cm
Friday 17th April 2020, 7:53am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Friday 17th April 2020, 8:16am
Niseko Now 0cm
Sunday 19th April 2020, 8:34am
Naeba Now 0cm
Sunday 5th April 2020, 9:01am
Minakami Now 0cm
Monday 13th April 2020, 8:08am
Hakuba Now 0cm
Monday 13th April 2020, 9:02am
Aizu Bandai Now 4cm
Friday 10th April 2020, 7:23am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Saturday 18th April 2020, 7:27am
Grandeco Now 0cm
Thursday 22nd November 2018, 11:03am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Myoko Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Myoko Now by clicking on the month