Zao Now daily snow and weather - Wednesday 11th January 2012

Zao Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Zao Onsen region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 5:42pm on Wednesday 11th January 2012
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Cloud, light snow
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
Light-moderate wind
Fair>poor
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Wednesday 11th January 2012, 5:42pm
---
Tuesday 10th January 2012, 9:50am ---
Monday 9th January 2012, 13:00pm ---
Sunday 8th January 2012, 12:21pm ---
Saturday 7th January 2012, 10:15am ---
Friday 6th January 2012, 13:38pm ---
Thursday 5th January 2012, 10:55am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (January 2012) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 5:42pm on Wednesday 11th January 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

The day has gone so fast... sorry for the evening report today.

We were greeted to about 15cm or so of fresh snowfall in the village this morning as well as cold temperatures but just a cloudy start. I woke to the sound of the machines out there moving snow from the roads - always a good way to start the day!

It has generally been a cloudy day here with snow on the mountain from time to time but not heavy snow and visibility has remained fair, though less good in upper areas. It has been a very cold day though and basically seems to have got colder as the day went on. Tonight looks like it will be one of the coldest of the year so far I think. In the daytime tomorrow we may see some less cloud than today but after that snow clouds are forecast to move back into the Zao area on Friday.

Hopefully that will mean more fresh snow just in time for the weekend.

Official snow depths (11th January 12)
Utopia - 155cm
Chuo - 150cm
Paradise - 155cm
Uwanodai - 120cm

Operating lifts (10th January 12)
All Ropeways (Skycable, Zao Chuo Ropeway, Zao Ropeway) operating.
All the runs at Zao are open.

Archive report: Posted at 5:42pm on Wednesday 11th January 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Zao Now ski lift operation notes:

All runs at Zao now open

<
Tuesday 10th January 2012
This report
Wednesday 11th January 2012
Thursday 12th January 2012
>
UPDATES
UPDATE FROM SNOWJAPAN
As the hot summer approaches - a few thoughts and an update on what we are up to at the moment

NEWS & BLOGS
Introducing our 'News & Blogs' section of the site
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Sunday 30th May 2021, 8:45am
Niseko Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 8:45am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Sunday 23rd May 2021, 8:25am
Furano Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 11:08am
Hakuba Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 9:23am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 8:01am
Kiroro Now 0cm
Thursday 6th May 2021, 9:32am
Myoko Now 0cm
Sunday 2nd May 2021, 8:18am
Madarao Now 0cm
Sunday 4th April 2021, 9:04am
Geto Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:45am
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:40am
Aizu Bandai Now 0cm
Thursday 26th November 2020, 11:22am
Minakami Now 0cm
Wednesday 16th December 2020, 10:07am
Naeba Now 0cm
Friday 27th November 2020, 7:58am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Zao Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Zao Now by clicking on the month