Zao Now daily snow and weather - Tuesday 13th March 2012

Zao Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Zao Onsen region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 8:05am on Tuesday 13th March 2012
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Snowy and cloudy
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
Moderate wind
Generally poor
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Tuesday 13th March 2012, 8:05am
---
Monday 12th March 2012, 9:14am ---
Sunday 11th March 2012, 9:35am ---
Saturday 10th March 2012, 9:03am ---
Friday 9th March 2012, 9:47am ---
Thursday 8th March 2012, 9:16am ---
Wednesday 7th March 2012, 10:09am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (March 2012) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 8:05am on Tuesday 13th March 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

What date is it again? 13th March? Just had to check! This morning we are really back to mid-winter conditions in Zao and I would say we have had getting on for what must be 40-50cm of fresh snow. Actually, come to think of it, while it is cold at about -4 degrees it isn't the crazy cold we get right in the middle of the winter but 40-50cm of snow and I don't really care what the temperature is doing!

Poor visibility this morning but the forecast is for conditions to clear up later on and while we may see light snow on and off over the next few days the trend is for warmer weather and clearer skies, especially as we get into and beyond Friday.

I have checked the official numbers below and for now they haven't changed - but this new snow I see outside is definitely real!

Official snow depths (13th March 12)
Utopia - 245cm
Chuo - 210cm
Paradise - 245cm
Uwanodai - 170cm

Operating lifts (13th March 12)
All Ropeways (Skycable, Zao Chuo Ropeway, Zao Ropeway) operating.
All the runs at Zao are open.

Archive report: Posted at 8:05am on Tuesday 13th March 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Zao Now ski lift operation notes:

Zao is open as normal

<
Monday 12th March 2012
This report
Tuesday 13th March 2012
Wednesday 14th March 2012
>
UPDATES
UPDATE FROM SNOWJAPAN
As the hot summer approaches - a few thoughts and an update on what we are up to at the moment

NEWS & BLOGS
Introducing our 'News & Blogs' section of the site
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Furano Now 0cm
Wednesday 20th October 2021, 1:24pm
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:40am
Geto Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:45am
Kiroro Now 0cm
Thursday 6th May 2021, 9:32am
Madarao Now 0cm
Sunday 4th April 2021, 9:04am
Myoko Now 0cm
Sunday 2nd May 2021, 8:18am
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Sunday 30th May 2021, 8:45am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 8:01am
Niseko Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 8:45am
Hakuba Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 9:23am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Sunday 23rd May 2021, 8:25am
Naeba Now 0cm
Friday 27th November 2020, 7:58am
Minakami Now 0cm
Wednesday 16th December 2020, 10:07am
Aizu Bandai Now 0cm
Thursday 26th November 2020, 11:22am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Zao Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Zao Now by clicking on the month