Zao Now daily snow and weather - Tuesday 24th January 2012

Zao Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Zao Onsen region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 10:35am on Tuesday 24th January 2012
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Cloud
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
Light wind
Fair lower slopes, poor upper
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Tuesday 24th January 2012, 10:35am
---
Monday 23rd January 2012, 19:47pm ---
Sunday 22nd January 2012, 17:18pm ---
Saturday 21st January 2012, 16:46pm ---
Friday 20th January 2012, 10:01am ---
Thursday 19th January 2012, 8:58am ---
Wednesday 18th January 2012, 8:51am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (January 2012) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 10:35am on Tuesday 24th January 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Too cold to snow? I don't know the science (or not!) behind that story I have heard this morning from a few people, but it sure is cold this morning. -11 degrees it was in the vilalge before I got out earlier on this morning and I doubt it has 'warmed up' that much either. The top of the resort recorded nearly -15 degrees as well this morning.

There is just a few cm of new snow to report this moring in the village and it has been just cloudy this morning. The lower slopes of the ski area visible from base but anything higher up is covered in cloud so there will be poor visibility out on the upper slopes of Zao today.

Basically the forecast tells us to expect snowfall over the next 6+ days along with cold temperatures. Come prepared. The new snow will all be welcome though as a nice topup on the slopes to keep conditions good.

Official snow depths (24th January 12)
Utopia - 180cm
Chuo - 165cm
Paradise - 175cm
Uwanodai - 135cm

Operating lifts (24th January 12)
All Ropeways (Skycable, Zao Chuo Ropeway, Zao Ropeway) operating.
All the runs at Zao are open.

Archive report: Posted at 10:35am on Tuesday 24th January 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Zao Now ski lift operation notes:

All runs at Zao now open

<
Monday 23rd January 2012
This report
Tuesday 24th January 2012
Wednesday 25th January 2012
>
UPDATES
UPDATE FROM SNOWJAPAN
As the hot summer approaches - a few thoughts and an update on what we are up to at the moment

NEWS & BLOGS
Introducing our 'News & Blogs' section of the site
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Sunday 30th May 2021, 8:45am
Niseko Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 8:45am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Sunday 23rd May 2021, 8:25am
Furano Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 11:08am
Hakuba Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 9:23am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 8:01am
Kiroro Now 0cm
Thursday 6th May 2021, 9:32am
Myoko Now 0cm
Sunday 2nd May 2021, 8:18am
Madarao Now 0cm
Sunday 4th April 2021, 9:04am
Geto Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:45am
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:40am
Aizu Bandai Now 0cm
Thursday 26th November 2020, 11:22am
Minakami Now 0cm
Wednesday 16th December 2020, 10:07am
Naeba Now 0cm
Friday 27th November 2020, 7:58am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Zao Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Zao Now by clicking on the month