Zao Now daily snow and weather - Wednesday 25th January 2012

Zao Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Zao Onsen region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 9:44am on Wednesday 25th January 2012
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Cloud, light snow
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
Light wind
Fair
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Wednesday 25th January 2012, 9:44am
---
Tuesday 24th January 2012, 10:35am ---
Monday 23rd January 2012, 19:47pm ---
Sunday 22nd January 2012, 17:18pm ---
Saturday 21st January 2012, 16:46pm ---
Friday 20th January 2012, 10:01am ---
Thursday 19th January 2012, 8:58am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (January 2012) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 9:44am on Wednesday 25th January 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

It is another cold and cloudy morning here in Zao and I have perhaps about 5-6cm of snow to report. Light snow is apparently falling higher up but here in the village as I write this -- just cloudy. There is just a light wind and fair visibility on the mountain, although everything looks a shade of grey/silver/white this morning and not a lot of contrast.

The latest forecast tells us that snow should set in tonight and be with us (perhaps on and off) basically into next week along with cold mid-winter temperatures.

Wrap up well! If you are coming for the weekeend you should be rewarded with some great conditions and the 'Juhyo' Ice Monsters are looking good as well now.

The Ropeway/Gondola to the top of the resort are operating every evening now until the end of February. At the top you can get some fantastic views of floodlit 'Juhyo' which makes for a unique experience. Please note that you need to buy a seperate ticket to make use of this service - the ski lift ticket or nighta tickets for skiing are ot valid.

Official snow depths (25th January 12)
Utopia - 180cm
Chuo - 170cm
Paradise - 180cm
Uwanodai - 135cm

Operating lifts (25th January 12)
All Ropeways (Skycable, Zao Chuo Ropeway, Zao Ropeway) operating.
All the runs at Zao are open.

Archive report: Posted at 9:44am on Wednesday 25th January 2012
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Zao Now ski lift operation notes:

All runs at Zao now open

<
Tuesday 24th January 2012
This report
Wednesday 25th January 2012
Thursday 26th January 2012
>
UPDATES
UPDATE FROM SNOWJAPAN
As the hot summer approaches - a few thoughts and an update on what we are up to at the moment

NEWS & BLOGS
Introducing our 'News & Blogs' section of the site
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Sunday 30th May 2021, 8:45am
Niseko Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 8:45am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Sunday 23rd May 2021, 8:25am
Furano Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 11:08am
Hakuba Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 9:23am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 8:01am
Kiroro Now 0cm
Thursday 6th May 2021, 9:32am
Myoko Now 0cm
Sunday 2nd May 2021, 8:18am
Madarao Now 0cm
Sunday 4th April 2021, 9:04am
Geto Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:45am
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:40am
Aizu Bandai Now 0cm
Thursday 26th November 2020, 11:22am
Minakami Now 0cm
Wednesday 16th December 2020, 10:07am
Naeba Now 0cm
Friday 27th November 2020, 7:58am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Zao Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Zao Now by clicking on the month