Zao Now daily snow and weather - Wednesday 28th December 2011

Zao Now (Archive Report)

Independent and trustworthy daily snow and weather reports from Zao Onsen region, Japan
ARCHIVE REPORT: Posted at 9:24am on Wednesday 28th December 2011
Current weather conditions
Observed fresh snowfall AT BASE
weather condition
Light snow, cloud
Base temp:
0°C

Top temp:
0°C
Precipitation Wind Visibility
precipitation condition
-
wind condition
Slight wind
Fair lower, poor upper
PLEASE READ THIS
This report
Wednesday 28th December 2011, 9:24am
---
Tuesday 27th December 2011, 9:28am ---
Monday 26th December 2011, 9:22am ---
Sunday 25th December 2011, 9:38am ---
Saturday 24th December 2011, 20:54pm ---
Friday 23rd December 2011, 11:56am ---
Thursday 22nd December 2011, 10:31am ---
Last 7 reports (total): ---
Last 14 reports (total): ---
Current month (December 2011) total: ---
season so far total: ---

Archive report: Posted at 9:24am on Wednesday 28th December 2011
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Good morning.... another 10cm of snow in the village here this morning. Hardly any wind but it is still snowing lightly but forecast to perhaps clear up later on and tomorrow looks like it might be a clearer day. For now the mountains is once again mostly covered in cloud.

From Friday (30th) there will be a special early "Light Up" - you can take the Ropeway/Gondola up to the top of the mountain to see the floodlit 'juhyo' snow/ice monsters. They are still 'growing' but still a sight to behold even at this early stage. That runs through until the 3rd January. After that it is generally weekends and then every day from 21st January until 29th February. You need an extra lift ticket to use this and while it is not cheap (adults @ 2500 yen, children @ 1250 yen for return ropeway/gondola), it is an experience worth trying especially on a clear evening.

Official snow depths (28th Dec 11)
Utopia - 135cm
Chuo - 100cm
Paradise - 110cm
Uwanodai - 75cm

Operating lifts (28th Dec '11)
All Ropeways (Skycable, Zao Chuo Ropeway, Zao Ropeway) and all scheduled lifts operating.
All the runs at Zao are now open/accessible.

Archive report: Posted at 9:24am on Wednesday 28th December 2011
The latest Zao Now report can be found here

Zao Now ski lift operation notes:

All runs at Zao are now accessible.

<
Tuesday 27th December 2011
This report
Wednesday 28th December 2011
Thursday 29th December 2011
>
UPDATES
UPDATE FROM SNOWJAPAN
As the hot summer approaches - a few thoughts and an update on what we are up to at the moment

NEWS & BLOGS
Introducing our 'News & Blogs' section of the site
Daily snow reports
Other SnowJapan 'Now' reports and latest observed snowfall
Furano Now 0cm
Wednesday 20th October 2021, 1:24pm
Appi Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:40am
Geto Kogen Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 7:45am
Kiroro Now 0cm
Thursday 6th May 2021, 9:32am
Madarao Now 0cm
Sunday 4th April 2021, 9:04am
Myoko Now 0cm
Sunday 2nd May 2021, 8:18am
Shiga Kogen Now 0cm
Sunday 30th May 2021, 8:45am
Nozawa Onsen Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 8:01am
Niseko Now 0cm
Wednesday 5th May 2021, 8:45am
Hakuba Now 0cm
Sunday 9th May 2021, 9:23am
Yuzawa Now 0cm
Sunday 23rd May 2021, 8:25am
Naeba Now 0cm
Friday 27th November 2020, 7:58am
Minakami Now 0cm
Wednesday 16th December 2020, 10:07am
Aizu Bandai Now 0cm
Thursday 26th November 2020, 11:22am
Japan snowfall data
(updated daily during winter)
Zao Now archived reporting
View previous reports posted to Zao Now by clicking on the month